Broken Leg – Recovery time line

All,

Though I broke my leg 2 months ago, I am now planning to put the time line of my recovery so that it might give some insights for others when they unfortunately go through the same mishap.

SEPTEMBER 03: BROKE MY LEG

Till today I cant digest the fact that I broke my LEG in 4 places just by playing cricket. Yes damn CRICKET. The thing is I am more on the lazy side, like I try only for Fours\Sizes & like to catch the ball if at all it is in my lazy comfort zone. But 1 week ago, I some how moved from long-off to mid-off and managed to take a great catch while diving forward. This was back on my mind & in the next match on SEP 03, this made me push my body much further and ……… shit happened.

I was standing at long-on & while trying to catch the dying ball, I lost my balance as my right foot got stuck in the grass just before catching & my whole body weight fell on my ankle & it twisted to the right making 4-5 PAT PAT PAT PAT PAT sounds.

Even the keeper heard the sounds & everyone came rushing.

It was around 8:15 AM that it happened. Initially I was hoping that it was just a sprain. but when I picked up my right leg by its knee part while lying on the ground, it could see that the ankle was left hanging to the right – WTF. I used my hand & bough it to vertical position but to no use, it just went to the right. That is when I realized that my ankle bone is fractured. Still all players around me keep saying its just a twist.

After laying on the ground for the next 1 hour, I finally got up to severe sweating that almost made me fall over with dizziness. I managed to get on to a bike on a pillion & went home (the road was bad) by 9:45 AM. It was hard to hole my hanging ankle while sitting on a bike.

After reaching home, I bathed using hot water & started in a car around 10:15 AM to hospital with my friend. I DIDN’T FELL ANY PAIN TILL NOW.

SEPTEMBER 03: WENT TO A DOCTOR

Around 10:45 AM, I reached the hospital & got taken in a wheel chair to the consulting room. Doctor examined me around 11:15 AM & at first touch, he said it is a fracture, get the X-RAY (X1). Which shows that there were 2 fractures

  1. Distal Fibula (this later turned out to be broken in 2 more places from different sides)
  2. Medial Melleolus

SEPTEMBER 03: GOT A HARD CAST & GOT ADMITTED IN HOSPITAL

After the X-RAY (X1) confirmed my fracture, I was adviced to put on hard cast to reduce swelling & make the fracture immobilized. At around 12:15 PM, I had my POP (hard cast) put on & it was a burning sensation (probbably due to the chemicals used for POP).

Then after 10 minutes, PAIN SUDDENLY hit me like a 10 foot iron rod with spikes. I managed it for 10 more minutes & later raised an alarm & finally got a PAIN KILLER injection. doctor adviced me to get admitted then & there & scheduled my surgery on coming tuesday. they can only operate after swelling subsides. And next day was sunday & monday was Ganesh festival. So the D-Day was tuesday.

SEPTEMBER 06: SURGERY DAY

………………to be continued

SEPTEMBER 07: FIRST X-RAY – POST SURGERY

 

SEPTEMBER 11: GOT DISCHARGED FROM HOSPITAL

 

OCTOBER 12: WENT FOR INITIAL REVIEW

 

OCTOBER 12: GOT 1ST SET OF MEDICATIONS

 

NOVEMBER 05: WENT FOR SECOND REVIEW

 

NOVEMBER 05: GOT 2ND SET OF MEDICATIONS

 

NOVEMBER 07: BOUGHT AIR WALKER – STILL USING WALKER WITH 4 LEGS

 

NOVEMBER 08: CAME TO OFFICE. STATUS OF MY LEG WAS 

INVERSION: 60%

EVERSION: 60% – BUT COULD FEEL THE PAIN

DORSIFELXION: 40% – THIS WAS THE DIFFICULT PART

PALNTARFLEXION: 80% – THIS WAS OK. SINCE MY ANKLE OBVIOUSLY TWISTED THIS WAY 🙂

NOVEMBER 15: FIRST PHYSIOTHERAPY SESSION. REMEMBER THAT THE PHYSIO SESSIONS ARE VERY IMPORTANT IN BRINGING BACK THE AGILITY AS ALL THE MUSCLES WOULD BE SHORTENED DURING REST DAYS.

 

NOVEMBER 24: TRYING WITHOUT A BOOT – STILL USING WALKER WITH 4 LEGS. STILL PHYSIO IS CONTINUING. DORSIFLEXION WAS ABOUT 60%.

 

DECEMBER 15: BOUGHT A HAND CRUTCH

 

DECEMBER 25: HAVE BEEN USING HAND CRUTCH AND BOOT FOR THE PAST WEEK

 

JANUARY 05: REMOVED THE BOOT AND HAVE BEEN USING HAND CRUTCH ALONE. PHYSIO THERAPY ENDED HERE AS MY DORSIFLEXION WAS ABOUT 90% OK COMPARED TO PROPER LEG.

 

JANUARY 15: TRIED DRIVING MY CAR FOR SHORT DISTANCES

 

JANUARY 25: STARTED DRIVING MY CAR DAILY TO OFFICE – TO & FRO WAS ABOUT 55KM

 

FEBRUARY 05: STARTED WALKING WITHOUT MY HAND CRUTCHES. BUT I KEEP THEM IN CAR JUST IN CASE. BY NOW I COULD WALK NORMAL DISTANCES WITHOUT ANY PAIN. DAILY WORKOUT WAS AROUND 1 KM JUST TO GET STRENGTH BACK INTO LEG MUSCLES.

 

FEBRUARY 15: NOW IS THE DAY THAT I DITCHED THE HAND CRUTCHES COMPLETELY. THIS HAS TO BE DONE DUE TO MY US TRAVEL IN COMING WEEK. JUST TO AVOID UNNECESSARY SECURITY CHECKS.

 

MARCH 15: I WAS ABLE TO WALK LONG DISTANCES WITH SMALL BREAKS IN THE MIDDLE. BUT HAD TROUBLE STANDING FOR LONG DURATION. IF I SAT STILL FOR SOME HOURS (ALL SOFTWARE PEOPLE GO THROUGH THIS), MY ANKLE TIGHTENS UP.

 

APRIL 15: WENT TO HOUSTON ZOO WHICH HAD MANY ACRES TO WALK. THIS DAY I HAD SO MUCH PAIN THAT AT THE END OF THE DAY I WAS HOLDING MY LEG AND SLEEPING. BUT THIS HELPED ME A LOT AS IT FLEXED MY MUSCLES A LOT. IN THE COMING DAYS I HAD LESS PAIN WALKING LOG DISTANCES.

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

